top of page

My Most Anticipated Films of 2023

I am a little late with publishing this post this year, as I have been very busy working on my graduate thesis film, but having seen so many films last year, I’m naturally anticipating many more films this year. As per usual, this list includes films that I’m curious about but won’t necessarily go and see, except for the movies at the top of the list.


35) Winnie-the-Pooh: Blood and Honey - I’m not probably going to see this film ever in my life, not being a fan of horror for one thing, but this is such a ridiculous concept that I’m curious as to how it will be received and how many people will make videos on how campy it is. Props to the filmmakers for jumping on the source material going into the public domain so quickly and making it a unique take on it. Also, props on having a hilarious title. It was a toss-up between this and Cocaine Bear, but the fact that it’s based on a children’s book puts it on this list.


34) Kraven the Hunter - I know nothing about this character, but after the reception of Morbius, I’m really curious to see how this film is received. Hopefully, it’s closer to the dumb fun of Venom than the mess of Morbius.


33) Missing - I saw trailers for this recently, and it looks like an interesting concept and an interesting cinematic method. I still need to see Searching one of these days, but I heard good things about that film. As a result, I’m really curious to see how this one is received.


32) Marlowe - I’m a big fan of film noir, which consists of several depictions of Raymond Chandler’s Philip Marlowe. As a result, when I happened to spot this film on Wikipedia, I was naturally curious. Liam Neeson sounds like a good choice for the titular character, but I just hope this just isn’t one of his post-Taken thrillers.


31) Blue Beetle - I know nothing of the character, but with the current state of the DCEU, I’m naturally curious how this film is received and how it plays into the future of the franchise. The idea of this superhero getting his powers from an alien beetle sounds like an intriguing premise.


30) Wonka - I’m not a fan of Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, being unable to finish the movie when I saw it in class in the sixth grade (I got as far as Violet turning into a blueberry), and I haven’t seen the remake. As a result, I probably won’t rush to see this one, but I’m very curious to see how it’s received.


29) Beau is Afraid - I have never seen Hereditary and Midsommar and never will, but I know a lot about them. As a result, I’m naturally curious about this film, especially after seeing the trailer, which looks totally bonkers.


28) Killers of the Flower Moon - This looks like an intriguing based-on-a-true-story subject matter and I’m looking forward to another Scorsese film and collaboration with Leonardo DiCaprio.


27) Harold and the Purple Crayon - I’ve heard that this is coming but I know very little about it. I grew up on the books so I’m naturally curious to see how this film turns out, especially since it’s live action and not animated.


26) Jesus Revolution - I’ll admit, when I first heard about this film at the Ablaze Conference at Biola University, I thought it was another documentary similar to The Jesus Music (which I recently saw and didn’t care for), so I was surprised to find out it was narrative film. I’ve never seen any films by the Erwin Brothers, but from what I’ve seen from reviews of their films by Youtuber Say Goodnight Kevin, I’m really curious how they handle this source material, especially since he gave a great reaction to the first look footage. I also found it hilarious that as a Christian film, the trailer played before a screening I attended of The Fabelmans, a Jewish film.


25) The Flash - I’m a huge fan of the TV show, being my favorite show of all time, and The Flash is possibly my favorite superhero. I’m also looking forward to seeing Michael Keaton return as Batman. However, I’ve never been a fan of the DCEU version of the character, even after seeing the Synder Cut. And with all the controversies surrounding Ezra Miller and the uncertain future of the franchise, I’m really curious what’s going to happen to this film and if it’ll be any good.


24) Emily - I recently saw this trailer as part of a trailer survey, and I’m really intrigued. Granted, it has already released elsewhere, but it still needs to be released in the States, so I’m including it. My only exposure to Wuthering Heights is the 1939 film adaptation and thought it was alright. However, as a huge fan of Jane Eyre, I’m naturally interested in any film about the Brontès.


23) Chicken Run: Dawn of the Nugget - I love the first Chicken Run, but I wasn’t ever longing for a sequel. The biggest thing that concerns me about this one is that not all of the voice actors are returning. I’m curious to see how it’s received, but I don’t have high hopes for this one. I also don’t think it’s a good sign that it’s going straight to Netflix.


22) Asteroid City - I like some of Wes Anderson’s films, so I’m naturally curious about his latest film. A stargazing convention does seem like a unique setting that works for the director’s sensibilities.


21) Aquaman and the Lost Kingdom - I liked but didn’t love the first Aquaman, so I’m curious how they top the zaniness and overstuffed plot of the first one. I also can’t help but wonder how they’re going to handle Amber Heard’s role, whose costume was removed from display at Warner Bros. in mid-May during the controversial trial. I’m also curious how this is going to work with the future of the DC universe.


20) Chevalier - I only found out about this movie through a trailer survey and as a violinist and a fan of period dramas, it was only natural that I would become interested. It also appears to be a historical piece about an aspect of the French Revolution that’s not well-known, so I’m really curious to see it and how it’ll be received.


19) Shazam! Fury of the Gods - I was not a fan of the original Shazam!, though that was mainly because of the villain. As a result, it was a frustrating film with elements that I liked, but it just didn’t really work as a whole. However, I’m still interested in the sequel and hope it’ll just focus on the elements I liked in the first one. I also am curious why the costumes have changed when they come from a staff. I wonder if it will be explained or if they just changed the costume because Zachary Levi didn’t like the fact that the original costume was so hot all the time.


18) Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse - I liked but didn’t love Spider-Man: Into the Spiderverse, enjoying it, but just not nearly as much as The Lego Movie. So for that reason, this movie isn’t as high on this list as it is for some. I am still interested to see how this turns out, but I’m probably not going to rush to see this in theaters.


17) Oppenheimer - In November, I heard Michael Moses, the Chief Marketing Officer at Universal who was speaking to my class, describe the first trailer for Oppenheimer as unique and under Nolan’s direction. He was certainly right as it is a very unique trailer. I am not the biggest fan of Christopher Nolan, so I don’t know if I’ll see this in theaters, but I definitely will eventually. I was surprised that this was his choice of subject for his next film, so I’m curious to see what he does with it.


16) The Little Mermaid - Disney remakes have been hit-or-miss for me, and the original has never been my favorite Disney film. I’ve also had mixed feelings toward the filmography of Rob Marshall. But the visual effects shown the teaser look gorgeous, so that’s what really has me intrigued. Plus, adding more songs to the soundtrack has me interested.


15) Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves - I don’t play Dungeons & Dragons, finding it a game that probably takes up way too much time, but this film really intrigues me. There are two main reasons I’m interested - fantasy and Chris Pine. Overall, it looks like a fine adventure, so I’m looking forward to checking this out.


14) A Haunting in Venice - I liked, but didn’t love, Murder on the Orient Express and Death on the Nile, so I’m naturally curious about this next entry. However, I’m not the biggest fan of seances and I wonder how they handle a lesser-known Agatha Christie novel.


13) Haunted Mansion - I haven’t seen the original version, but I am a big fan of the ride, so I’m naturally curious about this movie. Hopefully, this is more along the lines of Pirates of the Caribbean than Disney’s other attempts at adapting their theme park rides into movies.


12) Barbie - I’ve been more and more curious about this film the more I hear about it. But that teaser trailer was one of the weirdest teasers I have seen in a long time, making me really curious as to what the heck this film is about. It seems like such a odd premise, but it does seem to have the right approach. Plus, if the rumors are true that Greta Gerwig is indeed going to Netflix’s Narnia films, then I have to see what she does with this.


11) The Super Mario Bros. Movie - My only video game experience is pretty much reserved to Mario Cart, so I’m not as concerned with Super Mario Bros. lore as other fans. The film does look gorgeous and an accurate representation of the franchise. I will admit that Chris Pratt is an odd choice as Mario, but I’m still very interested to see how this pans out. It can’t be worse than everything I’ve seen of the live action movie.


10) Wish - This seems like an appropriate release for Disney’s 100th anniversary (I wish Warner Bros. was doing something similar with their centennial this year), and it seems like an interesting concept. Hopefully, it’s more along the lines of their previous successes like Encanto rather than their last offering, Strange World.


9) Dune: Part Two - I enjoyed the first Dune overall, though I found the worldbuilding somewhat confusing and felt that it suffered from too many other films being influenced by its source material, making it feel derivative even though it technically isn’t. From everything I’ve heard about how the novel resolves, I’m curious to see how they’ll adapt the second half of the book. Either way, the technical aspects of the last one make me look forward to this one. We’ll see if it’s an improvement, doesn’t work as well, or is at the same level as its predecessor. I’m also curious if they’re planning on adapting beyond the first book.


8) Elemental - Pixar has been a little hit-or-miss the last few years, but their original films tend do best lately, so hopefully this is a good film to add to the list. I also like the idea of an opposites attract love story and the worldbuilding looks imaginative. It basically looks like a cross between Zootopia and Pokemon: Detective Pikachu.


7) Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny - I did not hate Kingdom of the Crystal Skull as much as most people, finding it fine but not horrible. I enjoy the Indiana Jones movies, but I’m not a die-hard fan like some. And while I am slightly nervous not having Spielberg as director this time round, the trailer does look very promising and has the feel of a good classic Indiana Jones adventure. If time travel is indeed involved, it would make for a possibly interesting storytelling device. Plus, it’s John Williams’ last score (officially this time after The Rise of Skywalker was supposed to be his last one), so I’ll definitely be checking it out.


6) Creed III - I really enjoyed the last two Creed movies, so naturally looking forward to this next entry. It looks like it presents an interesting character dilemma that does appear to be socially relevant. I am curious to see how Michael B. Jordan does as a director and how the franchise moves on without Sylvester Stallone’s Rocky.


5) The Marvels - I have not yet seen the Ms. Marvel TV series (and will have to before July), but I enjoyed Captain Marvel. I’m not sure how this will work as a sequel to the latter given the time jump (seriously, what is with female superhero films taking place in the past and having a time jump with their sequel, since the same thing happened with Wonder Woman), but I’m looking forward to seeing this.


4) Untitled Ghostbusters: Afterlife Sequel - I did not like the original Ghostbusters but loved Afterlife, liking the characters and the tone. It felt more like a children’s adventure that took itself more seriously, and I appreciated that. It also has a great ending that was a touching tribute to Harold Ramis. I felt it really worked well as a standalone film, so I’m naturally curious as to what they’re going to do for the sequel, especially since it’ll be a different director this time. I just hope it keeps the tone and feel of Afterlife instead of the original.


3) The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes - I have not yet read the prequel book but I definitely will before November. I’m a big fan of The Hunger Games series, so I’m really looking forward to returning to Panem. I’m especially excited after briefly meeting director Francis Lawrence at a Slumberland screening and am looking forward to seeing what he continues to bring to this franchise.


2) Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania - I haven’t seen much of Phase 4 of the MCU, mainly since I haven’t seen any of the Disney+ shows, so it feels weird that this is starting Phase 5. That last trailer has been very nervous about what may be in store for Scott Lang and Cassie. I’m also slightly worried based on the marketing that this entry won’t be as funny as the previous two films. And since this film introduces the next big bad, Kang the Conqueror, I’m really nervous about how this movie and trilogy is going to end.


1) Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 - Speaking about being nervous about how a trilogy is going to end, I’m nervous about how this movie will end since it’s essentially James Gunn’s last hurrah with Marvel and the Guardians. I really enjoyed the Holiday Special, which has only increased my anticipation. I’m also looking forward to seeing Eustace Clarence Scrubb himself, Will Poulter, join the MCU as Adam Warlock. I just hope the trilogy ends in a satisfying way and has a killer soundtrack. Either way, it’s by far my most anticipated film this year.

Recent Posts

See All

2024 Oscar Predictions

It’s time again for the Oscars and my annual predictions. This has been an interesting awards season for me as not only did I vote for...

My Favorite Films of 2023

This year’s list is coming out pretty late because, for the first time, I got to vote in a major award show. After winning a membership...

Comments


Stay Up-To-Date with New Posts

Search By Tags

bottom of page