top of page

2024 Oscar Predictions

It’s time again for the Oscars and my annual predictions. This has been an interesting awards season for me as not only did I vote for the Independent Spirit Awards, I volunteered at those awards, giving my first glimpse at how these award shows work. With that in mind, it’s going to be interesting to watch the show this year with this new experience. These are my predictions of what I think will win, but because I’ve seen so much, this also includes a record number of categories in which what I’d prefer to win is different from what I think will win.


Best Picture - Oppenheimer

Best Director - Christopher Nolan, Oppenheimer

Best Actor - Cillian Murphy, Oppenheimer

Best Actress - Lily Gladstone, Killers of the Flower Moon

Best Supporting Actor - Robert Downey Jr., Oppenheimer

Best Supporting Actress - Da’Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers

Best Original Screenplay - Anatomy of a Fall

Best Adapted Screenplay - American Fiction

Best Animated Feature - Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse

Best International Feature - The Zone of Interest

Best Documentary Feature Film - 20 Days in Mariupol

Best Documentary Short Film - The ABCs of Book Banning

Best Live Action Short Film - The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar

Best Animated Short Film - War Is Over! Inspired by the Music of John & Yoko

Best Original Score - Oppenheimer

Best Original Song - “What Was I Made For?,” Barbie

Best Sound - Oppenheimer

Best Production Design - Poor Things

Best Cinematography - Oppenheimer

Best Makeup and Hairstyling - Maestro

Best Costume Design - Barbie

Best Film Editing - Oppenheimer

Best Visual Effects - Godzilla Minus One


Preferred Picks:

Best Picture - The Holdovers

Best Actor - Paul Giamatti, The Holdovers

Best Original Screenplay - The Holdovers

Best Adapted Screenplay - Anything but American Fiction

Best Animated Feature - Elemental

Best International Feature - Society of the Snow

Best Documentary Feature - The Eternal Memory

Best Documentary Short Film - The Last Repair Shop

Best Original Song - “I’m Just Ken,” Barbie

Best Production Design - Barbie

Best Makeup and Hairstyling - Society of the Snow

Best Visual Effects - The Creator

Recent Posts

See All

My Favorite Films of 2023

This year’s list is coming out pretty late because, for the first time, I got to vote in a major award show. After winning a membership...

2024 Oscar Nomination Predictions

It’s that time of year again. Time for my predictions for this year’s Oscar nominations. While I still do not vote for the Oscars, I do...

Comments


Stay Up-To-Date with New Posts

Search By Tags

bottom of page