top of page

My Favorite Films of 2023

This year’s list is coming out pretty late because, for the first time, I got to vote in a major award show. After winning a membership with Film Independent, I got to vote in this year’s Independent Spirit Awards, which has delayed my compiling of this list, as well as catching up with some films through the library. As with previous years, this is my personal ranking of how I liked the films, not the best films I saw this year, as will be very apparent with the final two, which are practically tied. Also, unlike previous years, this year I’m including every film I saw. (There’s also a film I saw at a test screening that I wish I could include on this list, but it hasn’t been released yet and I can’t say what it is, but hopefully I can add it next year because I really loved that film.)


40) On a Wing and a Prayer - I only saw this because I received a link to a free online screening. I had heard about this project beforehand and while it sounded like an incredible true story, I wasn’t sure how it would be stretched out into a full-length feature. The first half hour was very slow and felt like a stereotypical faith-based film taking place in the South, but once the flight took off, it got a lot more interesting. It was competently edited, creating engaging tension, though the inclusion of the children was extraneous and only served to offer exposition. The biggest blunder in my opinion, though, was choosing in the big triumphant moment to play “Hallelujah” by Leonard Cohen, a song that masquerades as a Christian song, but really isn’t. It had some decent qualities, but this still would have made for a better short film.


39) Renfield - This looked like a fun movie and the idea of casting Nicolas Cage as Dracula was genius, but this movie was way too gory for me. It had some good moments, but it might have been more enjoyable as a PG-13 film. There also wasn’t enough Dracula. It might have done better at the box office if it was released near Halloween, but it also didn’t feel enough like a spooky film for the season.


38) Maestro - For me, this movie was an example of style over substance. I thought Bradley Cooper’s direction was good, with some great cinematography and good acting, and this film had some great moments, such as the On the Town musical scene and Felicia’s sickness. But at the end of the day, the script felt weak as I didn’t feel that I knew the characters well enough and I learned nothing of real substance about Leonard Bernstein by the end. I appreciate the effort to try and avoid music biopic mistakes, but it also doesn’t give enough context for his career surrounding the events, assuming that the audience knows enough about him to follow the story.


37) Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania - I love the first two Ant-Man films, finding them some of the funniest movies in the MCU. As a result, I was really looking forward to this third film. However, it’s fine but doesn’t do anything to be memorable. It also doesn’t feel enough like an Ant-Man film, not having a low-stakes heist, any fun with going small and big, and really needed Louise and his friends. It’s just not an Ant-Man movie without Louise explaining something in a hilarious way (watch the How It Should Have Ended video to see their version of this). While it’s cool to see the Quantum Realm and answer some questions from the last film, it leads to a bland rebellion from an oppressor plot. I thought the recasting of Cassie didn’t feel consistent with what was set up from Endgame, though I think a part of it is because her hair isn’t black like the previous two actresses, so she doesn’t look like the same character, creating a jarring experience. While Jonathan Majors was good as Kang, he’s ultimately just another villain that’s hard to defeat, which is getting tiring, and since he’s no longer going to be in the MCU, it makes this feel all the more pointless. I liked the idea of M.O.D.A.K. actually being Darren Cross, as it was a twist that worked for me, though there was no real satisfying payoff, especially considering that he tried to kill Cassie as a kid, and his arc felt rushed. The CGI on him also didn’t work, so it ultimately felt like a letdown. This movie also wastes Bill Murray.


36) Wish - I thought this was better than Strange World, but it was very forgettable. It needed a much stronger script to really work. The characters needed more development, Asha needed more of an arc, and Star needed more of a purpose, as its powers and value in the story were inconsistent. I didn’t mind the animation style too much, though it would have been better if it were hand-drawn or more of a 2D-3D hybrid. Also, the music wasn’t great overall, as everyone has pointed out already, though “This Wish” and “Knowing What I Know Now” were the highlights. It also wasn’t enough of a fairy tale for Disney’s 100 celebration film, which is the subject of a blog post coming soon.


35) Asteroid City - This might just be the most Wes Anderson film ever made. I was really curious to see how the director would handle sci-fi and the result is just about what you would expect. I thought the production design for this was exceptional. The stop-motion alien is also hilarious and exactly what you’d almost expect from Wes Anderson. However, I didn’t like how it combined two stories, as I didn’t care for the black-and-white portions. I personally think this would have been a lot stronger if it just had the color scenes, as that was far more interesting and less disjointed. Overall, this one just didn’t leave much of an impact for me. The alien arrival and song scenes were the best part of the movie.


34) Aporia - This film has a very interesting concept that creates a compelling moral dilemma that the characters have to grapple with. However, while the film probably ends the right way, it’s also not the most satisfying ending, even if the ambiguity does make some sense. It’s interesting how things play out, but it’s also very depressing. The acting is also well done, though I remember wondering why there were so many handheld shots when I watched this. It’s worth checking out only if you’re already a fan of sci-fi, but it could have been better.


33) Napoleon - This was an unusual film, especially for a biopic about a famous figure. The battle scenes were really well done, especially with the knowledge that Ridley Scott essentially edited scenes multi-camera style while they were being shot with multiple cameras. There are historical inaccuracies that can be distracting, as well as a weird tone. It’s mostly serious, but many odd moments of humor don’t always land. Joaquin Phoenix’s performance was also inconsistent, though Vanessa Kirby does deserve the praise she has received as being the best part of the film, especially since she was a last-minute replacement. Napoleon and Josephine’s relationship is central to the film, yet it also should have been more of a focus, since as is, it comes across as somewhat strange and their story had more room to explore.


32) Fair Play - This was an interesting film with a bit of a strange discourse surrounding it. I’ve heard people say that it’s anti-men and only for female advancement in the workplace, but that’s not the case at all. It’s far more complicated since both of the main characters are horrible people and it makes for an interesting conflict between the couple, creating a thriller that’s leading to an unavoidable catastrophe. I’m glad I saw it, but I probably won’t seek it out again.


31) The Deepest Breath - This wasn’t the easiest movie to watch in theaters, as some of the archival footage made me motion sick, but it fortunately was only for a small section of the film. This covers an interesting subject matter about a sport I was completely unaware of. Some aspects of how the sport of freediving is managed make no sense to me, but that isn’t a problem with the film itself. This has some great cinematography and editing, making for a compelling documentary. There’s an interesting choice in withholding information that makes for an interesting expectation for the end of the narrative, similar to a narrator choice in my number three film on this list. This is a very interesting documentary and I would recommend checking this out.


30) Chevalier - As a violinist and a fan of period films, I was very intrigued by the trailer. However, it isn’t a good sign that I kept forgetting that this movie came out this year. This film covers a great, forgotten subject matter that deserves a better film. Some characters make decisions that don’t fully make sense and the movie ends in a place in which it felt that there was more story to tell, as the ending title cards hint at more tragedy that should have been explored.


29) American Fiction - This film has a great concept that the filmmakers utilize to create great satire. It’s very funny and Jeffrey Wright deserves his Best Actor Oscar nomination. However, it feels like two different movies competing with each other. One is the main premise of the film in which Monk writes a stereotypically black book as a joke, only for it to take off and make him successful, while the other is a family drama. While his family issues lead to him accepting the book deal, other than that, they feel rather disconnected. I felt that Elemental in a way does have two competing storylines, but those I felt came together more coherently. This feels like the family drama is overtaking time that could have been spent on the hilarious main premise. For instance, I wanted to see more of his writing the book (as the scene they do feature reminds me of The Man Who Invented Christmas) and learn more about what it was about outside of one line of dialogue. I will give props that the ending avoids many liar-revealed cliches, though it does it in a way that can feel somewhat unsatisfying upon first viewing.


28) Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves - I was very intrigued by the trailers for this film, as it seemed like a fun fantasy adventure. I’m not a Dungeons & Dragons player, but it seemed to have some mainstream appeal. Unfortunately, while it was a fun film, it was not great, nor was it the film that the trailers promised. The trailers made it seem like this was about these thieves trying to steal something they stole back to avoid catastrophe, and while it’s kind of true, the motivations of Chris Pine’s character are much different. So it’s not bad, but it’s also not memorable, nor quite as good as the trailers seemed to promise. Part of the problem is things that happen to the characters are solved too easily. As much as I was rooting for this to do well at the box office, I’m also not surprised why it didn’t. Filmento did a great video about this film and why it didn’t do as well as it could have.


27) Haunted Mansion - I haven’t seen the original movie, but based on everything I’ve seen, this is definitely the superior version. I thought this was a fun, spooky film that was a great homage to the Disney ride filled with fun Easter eggs. I thought the acting was good and found it a nice adventure film with high stakes. I don’t understand why this was released in August instead of October, though. Overall, I think it’s probably the second-best film based on a Disney theme park ride (counting the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise as one film in this case), as I found it better than Jungle Cruise. Also, it’s directed by a Chapman grad, which is cool.


26) Shazam! Fury of the Gods - So I have a controversial opinion about this film: I liked this better than the first one. I had mixed feelings about the original, finding the villain too dark and feeling that it just didn’t live up to its potential, but at the time, I did think the sequel could be good. I honestly don’t understand why the reviews were so harsh for this, as it deterred me from seeing this in theaters. I thought this film was a lot of fun and I enjoyed seeing more of the Shazam! family. I don’t have a lot to say about this film, but found it entertaining. Sometimes I just enjoy a silly, fun movie. I actually wish there would be a sequel to this. If not, I’d love to see Zachary Levi return as this character.


25) The Super Mario Bros. Movie - This was a fun little movie that feels very surface level, not going very deep with emotions or characters. But is a fun time and as someone who’s only really played Mario Kart, I appreciated some of the Easter eggs. It does a good job of adapting the way the game works into the worldbuilding of the Mushroom Kingdom. The score is great, though the pop songs are distracting. While it could have been better, it does feel like a satisfying movie adaptation that doesn’t go off the rails, with room for improvement for the inevitable sequel. The sequel better include Princess Daisy! Also, the reveal of Bowser’s villain plan is absolutely hilarious. I also find it funny that “Peaches” got nominated for a Golden Globe for Best Original Song, and Jack Black was the best voiceover performance of the film.


24) May December - I thought this was an interesting film, though it wasn’t one of my favorites this awards season. I found the tone kind of odd, as it was a serious subject matter with many humorous moments that mostly didn’t work for me (my favorite was probably the hot dog line, which was referenced at the Independent Spirit Awards). The performances were really good and deserve the praise they have received. I wished the ending was a little more satisfying, as there was a moment that left me somewhat confused in the end. I did like the Georgia setting, as it felt distinctive and reminded me of my home in Florida. I found the score kind of odd, as well as some of the uses of extreme close-ups.


23) Barbie - I wasn’t able to watch this until about a month ago and I have mixed feelings about this. It has a lot of creativity, especially in its look, production design, and acting. Ryan Gosling especially is perfectly cast and absolutely hilarious in this role. I do agree that the main monologue is great and really speaks to the female experience (and was greatly parodied in Jimmy Kimmel’s Oscars promo). However, I didn’t love it and probably won’t own it on DVD. While it has funny moments, it wasn’t as funny as I thought it would be. Many of my mixed feelings are about the ending. I understand why they decided to end the story that way and the last line is perfect, but I didn’t think the execution was well done. On one hand, I was relieved that most of the film wasn’t set in the real world as expected, but on the other hand, it ultimately hurt the ending in my opinion. Compared to stories with similar arcs such as Enchanted and The Good Place, it doesn’t work as well. I also find the worldbuilding ultimately confusing. Overall, I could see how this was so popular.


22) The Creator - This was an intriguing sci-fi film that deserves praise and Oscar nominations for its visuals, especially with a relatively small budget compared to most blockbusters. It creates an interesting discourse about a possible future conflict between humans and robots. Madeline Yuna Voyles‘s child performance was great and it feels like an old-fashioned, classic sci-fi film. However, the story needed to be stronger to really be great. It does borrow a lot of elements from Rogue One: A Star Wars Story and does feel like it repeats story beats in a narrative of two characters being on the run. Overall, this is still worth checking out.


21) Upon Entry - This is an interesting, self-contained indie film that takes place in almost real-time with a lot of relevant social commentary. It has the feel of a play, as it’s very dialogue-heavy. It makes for a very effective thriller as information is slowly revealed and a relationship is essentially torn apart in their effort to enter the United States. This film also has possibly the best ending of the year, as it makes a massive impact in a small amount of time. This is definitely worth checking out and deserves its Independent Spirit Award nominations.


20) Flora and Son - This was a fun film that I really need to rewatch with subtitles because of all the heavy Irish accents. It features a lot of realism yet winds up in a feel-good place. It’s about an interesting, tense mother-son relationship that goes through an interesting arc. It also features a choice toward the end that feels very realistic and avoids cliches. It also has good music. I think this is among one of the most underrated films of the year.


19) The Flash - Real-world controversy aside, this is one of the better DCEU films right as it ends, though there’s a lot holding it back from being great. It has some funny moments (though not all of the humor worked) and it’s nice seeing Michael Keaton back as Batman. But rushed and inconsistent plot points and character arcs keep it from being great. I’m also not the biggest fan of this portrayal of the titular character and since I didn’t like Man of Steel, I wasn’t the biggest fan of those callbacks. And since the TV version is my favorite show of all time, there were several similar moments, such as Nora Allen’s death and Barry saying goodbye to her, that are so inferior in the film version compared to the small screen, even with the show’s lower budget for effects. They should have just brought back Grant Gustin.


18) Anatomy of a Fall - This is a really good film, but I wasn’t wowed by it either. I think it’s too long, as the first half can drag a little, so cutting a half hour would have helped the pacing. Other than that, this is an interesting mystery, courtroom drama film that leaves some things ambiguous. There was one argument in the case that I was surprised the defense didn’t make. But the performances were great and it ends in an interesting way that’s rarely portrayed. I did find the music at the beginning distracting at first, though it did make for a good joke at the Independent Spirit Awards (one of the few that worked in the show). I also love the attention Messi the dog has been receiving because it’s well-deserved.


17) Creed III - I wasn’t quite sure where a third film of this series would go, but this made for an interesting story that dived into Adonis’s past. I love the way they handle the final fight, as it’s imaginative and emotional. This film also proved the franchise could succeed without missing Rocky’s presence, as this felt like its own story completely independent of Rocky’s. Overall, this was an effective directorial debut from Michael B. Jordan. I’m not sure if they should make another one, since this ends in a good way and because while all three Creed films are good, there is a diminishing quality.


16) The Eternal Memory - This was an emotionally effective documentary that completely deserves its Oscar nomination. It’s a beautiful portrait of a relationship as one of them deals with Alzheimer’s. It’s very personal and despite dealing with a dark subject matter, it’s surprisingly hopeful. Even though some of the footage was out of focus, it wasn’t too distracting and all worked effectively. It was also memorable for me because I shook subject Paulina Urrutia’s hand after the screening I attended.


15) Freud’s Last Session - As a massive C.S. Lewis fan based on the Narnia books and films alone, I was instantly intrigued by this film. It uses a historical possibility that’s never been confirmed to create an interesting dialogue between its two famous figures. I thought the dialogue was very well-balanced, as I felt the film never took sides as I feared it would and gave both sides of the argument about God equal time. I think it did a good job of making this adaptation of a play still cinematic. I love the irony that Anthony Hopkins is in this playing Freud after expertly playing Lewis in Shadowlands. The filmmakers stated they made this to showcase a constructive way to discuss disagreements, and that does make this an important film. This is definitely worth checking out.


14) Air - This was a fun film covering a subject matter I was surprised would be this interesting or high stakes. I think Ben Affleck is a great director and this is another good film in his filmography. This has a good script, acting, and production design. It also feels very 80s, establishing the time period well. I found the choice to not show Michael Jordan interesting, and how they used archival footage of him during Matt Damon’s monologue was effective. Also, agent David Falk was the best part of the film.


13) Maxine’s Baby: The Tyler Perry Story - As an artist who is currently struggling to break into the industry, I found this documentary to be very emotionally affecting. I didn’t know much about Tyler Perry before this film and he earned my respect after seeing this film, even if I never see his films. I thought this was a well-done documentary covering his life and legacy in a way that you don’t have to know anything about him before seeing the film. I also thought it ended in a great way.


12) Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny - I’ve enjoyed Raiders of the Lost Ark and The Last Crusade, but I only watch them every now and then and am not a die-hard fan. I didn’t hate Kingdom of the Crystal Skull quite as much as most people, but it wasn’t very memorable either. With that said, I found this a very enjoyable legacy sequel. The opening did a great job of feeling like an old-school Indiana Jones adventure and the de-aging worked pretty well (though the old voice can be slightly distracting). The rest of the film is a fun adventure in which he is paired with his complicated goddaughter with an interesting arc. I especially liked the eels being like snakes as a funny callback. I found the villain really intriguing and intimidating, with great motivation, resulting in a unique resolution that was somewhat unpredictable. I loved where this movie ended, feeling like a satisfying conclusion.


11) Past Lives - I love the premise of this film because it deals with very relatable themes. I appreciated that it avoided the cliches that a lot of films would have embraced. Instead, this film felt very realistic with all its complicated feelings. The only issue I had was that I felt Nora and Arthur had no chemistry, which made it slightly harder to not root for a cliche ending. It seemed to be that Nora was more happy with her American life than her being in love with her husband. The set-up for the writer’s retreat also could have used a slightly better set-up as there was one mention, but the act of her actually going there was confusing at first. I also don’t know why the ending emotional moment for her was not in close-up. Other than that, I thought this was really well done.


10) Oppenheimer - This was a really well-done biopic that uses Christopher Nolan’s love of multiple timelines really well, leading to a great twist, which is a rarity for true stories, but it was done effectively. I did not see it in theaters, though I did see it in one sitting, so I can say that this doesn’t feel its length. It does feel very fast-paced, though it also proceeds at such a breakneck speed, that it almost felt slightly too fast at times, especially during the first half. The way things are visualized to portray characters’ emotions is very creative in several places. I agree that it’s one of Nolan’s better films, though it isn’t my favorite either. Overall, I think it’s good, but to me, it shouldn’t win Best Picture. What I think should win will be obvious at the top of this list. I do think Robert Downey Jr. should win Best Supporting Actor, though.


9) The Boys in the Boat - In the Q&A I attended, George Clooney said he wanted to make an old-fashioned sports movie and that’s exactly what he did. I thought this was a very entertaining, well-done movie that’s one of the best feel-good stories of the year. While the story was condensed quite a bit, the basics were kept to convey the story effectively. It reminded me a lot of Seabiscuit, something I actually told Clooney. I would highly recommend checking this out.


8) Radical - In some ways, this is basically Mexican Stand and Deliver, but it’s still great in its own right. It showcases an unusual approach to learning that’s thought-provoking while also realistically showcasing the harsh realities these children faced. It’s an entertaining and beautiful film that’s very effective. The fact that the real-life Paloma has apparently decided to become a teacher after seeing this film (at least according to the Q&A I attended) says a lot about this movie.


7) Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie - I thought this film was a beautiful portrait of the great Michael J. Fox that despite the subject matter, is very funny and uplifting. This film makes great use of reenactments, archival footage, and observational footage, resulting in the best editing I’ve seen in a documentary film in years. Michael’s character arc is inspiring and makes for a great narrative. This really is a remarkable portrait of a Hollywood legend. Definitely check this out.


6) The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes - I spent my summer and autumn reading the novel in anticipation of this prequel. This is a solid adaptation of the book. While it misses some of the nuances of the book, especially since it lacks Snow’s inner monologue, I thought it captured the long book really well. There are some things that I was hoping to see from the book, such as the side effects of Clemensia’s snake bite, but overall, it was a satisfying watch. I really did enjoy returning to the world of Panem.


5) Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 - I thoroughly enjoyed this final chapter, finding it a satisfying conclusion to one of Marvel’s best series. However, it’s definitely the weakest of the three. One of the reasons why is that the soundtrack isn’t as good as the others, as evidenced by the fact that I still haven’t finished downloading it and only have listened to a handful of tracks. I also think that the long delay didn’t help this film, and having Infinity War and Endgame interrupt the flow from the second film to this one didn’t do this movie any favors. I also prefer the holiday special. Still, what this series had to deal with is unconventional and I think James Gunn pulled it off well. Good luck fixing DC. Also, I have to say I loved the VeggieTales reference in the How Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 Should Have Ended video.


4) Elemental - This is the first Pixar film since Coco that I’ve seen three times in theaters (and yes, I’ve seen all of their films since then in theaters), and I loved it. I’m a big fan of romance stories, so I was compelled to see this movie. I do feel that the first half is weaker in the first half, as I wish that the catalyst that brings Ember and Wade together was handled better. There are also some questions regarding the timeline that can be distracting. I also feel that the immigrant family story and the love story sometimes feel separate, but they are weaved together better than I felt American Fiction handled its two stories. But that second half though more than makes up for it, making it for an emotional climax that is one of Pixar’s best in recent memory. I’m glad that this found its audience as it’s one of Pixar’s best original films in recent years. I wish they had included the Up short on the DVD, though.


3) Society of the Snow - This is definitely the best survival film I’ve ever seen and possibly the best one of all time. This film is absolutely brutal, emphasizing how it’s a miracle that anyone survived. As it can be difficult to keep track of some of the characters, it still doesn’t hold the movie back, and the way they use flashbacks to remind the audience of who someone was really effective. It’s a remarkable account of the power of cooperation and features the most humane portrayal of cannibalism of all time. The cinematography, especially with its use of close-ups, is incredible. The decision to use narration in the way they did was a brilliant choice. This was very much a theatrical film, so it’s a shame that so many will only see this film at home. At the screening I attended, survivor Roberto Canessa was in attendance, making the experience of seeing this film stand out to me all the more.


2) The Holdovers - This is an excellent film with a wonderful screenplay and a perfect cast. Not only is it hilarious, with many memorable lines and moments, but it has so many layers that it merits multiple discussions and analysis. It’s the rare film that’s difficult to stop thinking about because it’s just that good and once I finish watching it, I just want to see it again. It’s technically a Christmas film but can be watched any time of the year. It’s also one of the best boarding school films of all time, not just because it doesn’t take place during the school year and the bully character disappears in the second half, but it openly acknowledges the privilege that the students enjoy while also acknowledging the difficulties some of them may experience. It also helps that I will always link this film with meeting producer Mark Johnson again after meeting him during my internship at Walden Media. This film would have easily clinched the number one spot and is essentially tied for first place if it weren’t for the next film on this list.


1) The Little Mermaid - Yeah, this was a no-brainer for me. I had a feeling this would be my favorite film of the year early on but it clenched the top spot when it became only the fourth film that I’ve ever seen a total of four times in theaters upon initial release. I absolutely love this film and this was the soundtrack of the year for me, loving the new renditions and additional songs (yes, even “The Scuttlebutt”), and am frankly mad that none of them were shortlisted for an Oscar. It’s also visually stunning, which is part of why I saw it so many times in theaters. I think it’s superior to the original in almost every way, and I’m not the biggest fan of the original to begin with (this is going to be the subject of a separate blog post). I’m a huge fan of fairy tales, as evident by the fact that out of the fifteen screenplays I’ve written, five of them are based on fairy tales, but I often find that most live-action adaptations aren’t very satisfying, including the live-action remakes. This is one of the few that completely works. I don’t understand all the hate people give this film and all I can say is that if you haven’t seen it, you have to check it out.

Recent Posts

See All

2024 Oscar Predictions

It’s time again for the Oscars and my annual predictions. This has been an interesting awards season for me as not only did I vote for...

2024 Oscar Nomination Predictions

It’s that time of year again. Time for my predictions for this year’s Oscar nominations. While I still do not vote for the Oscars, I do...

Comments


Stay Up-To-Date with New Posts

Search By Tags

bottom of page