top of page

My Most Anticipated Movies of 2020

Updated: Sep 20, 2020

I’m really curious about how 2020 is going to turn out in terms of movies, since there is only a handful I’m really excited about and several I’m really curious about, so here is my most anticipated list for this year. 20) Minions: The Rise of Gru - I have a vague curiosity about this one. I didn’t like the first Minions nearly as much as the Despicable Me movies, since it seemed to get almost too ridiculous in the second half, but who knows? This one may surprise me. If anything, I’m sure it’d at least be mildly entertaining. 19) The One and Only Ivan - A big deal was made in the Tampa Bay area when scenes for this movie were shot in Florida, so in support of film in my home state, I’m putting this on my anticipated list and hope it’s a good movie. 18) The New Mutants - After all the delays, I’m really curious about what the response to this movie is going to be once it’s finally released. Even the box office show, Charting, on the Youtube channel, Screen Junkies, is counting down to this film, while also wondering if it’ll ever be released. I’m not into horror, but combining that with the superhero genre is an interesting idea. 17) Bill & Ted Face the Music - I’m not a fan of the first Bill & Ted and I haven't seen the second film, but I am really curious even just to see a trailer for this, especially since Keanu Reeves’ career has evolved quite a bit since he last played Ted. 16) Birds of Prey (And the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn) - This movie looks so bonkers and I’m really curious how it’ll be received. 15) Venom 2 - The first Venom was so bizarre that I’m naturally curious to see how the sequel turns out, especially with Andy Serkis directing. 14) Sonic the Hedgehog - After all the controversy over Sonic’s design (which has now been vastly improved), I’m really curious to see how this film is received, especially since Jim Carrey’s villain looks so goofy, making the trailer feel like the movie should have been realized a decade ago. 13) Death on the Nile - I enjoyed Murder on the Orient Express and am looking forward to being introduced to more Agatha Christie through this movie. 12) Dune - I know very little about the source material, other than the fact that my dad is not a big fan of it, but Denis Villeneuve as director has me intrigued because while I was not a fan of Arrival, I thought Blade Runner 2049 was great. 11) Raya and the Last Dragon - Right now, Disney Animation has surpassed Pixar in terms of quality, even if I haven’t loved all their more recent films. The only reason this isn’t higher on the list is because we know very little about the plot. However, having a fantasy setting does make it sound promising. 10) Emma - I’m a big Jane Austen fan and love the Gwyneth Paltrow version, so I’m naturally curious about this version. 9) In the Heights - I have yet to see all of Hamilton, but what I have seen, I liked (even though I hate rap), so there’s a chance I like this one. I also like musicals and am glad that they’re adapting a Broadway musical in an era when people claim traditional musicals aren’t popular anymore. The dancing on the walls shots in the trailer looked the most intriguing. 8) Ghostbuster: Afterlife - I know some people have complained that the trailer wasn’t very funny like the original, but since I didn’t find the original funny to begin with, I’m on board with this change, and now I’m actually intrigued in a Ghostbusters movie, which is not something I thought would ever happen. Also, why is Finn Wolfhard in all these 80s-themed and related movies and TV shows (even if this one is set in the modern-day)? 7) Soul - I used to love Pixar enough that I would almost always see their films no matter what. But the massive disappointments of Incredibles 2 and Toy Story 4 have made me lose my confidence in Pixar. However, those were both sequels, so hopefully, their original fare is stronger. 6) Mulan - This looks like an intriguing remake because of how much it’s seeming to depart from the original, which could very well be a good thing. I’m curious as to how this film turns out. 5) Onward - I first heard the plot of this described in screenwriting lecture, which made it sound very bizarre, though the trailer did clear it up a little bit. The more recent trailer makes this look promising, so hopefully, as I mentioned with Soul, Onward can put Pixar back on track. 4) West Side Story - I’m a big fan of the musical and movie, so I’m naturally looking forward to this movie. With the recent rival and the changes made in the original movie, I’m curious how they’re going to adapt this classic. 3) Black Widow - This is one of the few films in MCU’s Phase Four that I’m interested in. I like the complex character of Natasha, so I’m looking forward to her first solo outing. Plus, David Harbour’s character looks really cool. 2) No Time to Die - I’m a big fan of Daniel Craig’s James Bond, so I’m really looking forward to his final outing as the character. 1) Wonder Woman 1984 - I absolutely loved the first Wonder Woman (including the third act), so of course I’m really looking forward to the sequel. Most of all, I’m really curious to see how they bring back Steve Trevor, especially since he was one of the best parts of the first film.

Recent Posts

See All

2024 Oscar Predictions

It’s time again for the Oscars and my annual predictions. This has been an interesting awards season for me as not only did I vote for...

My Favorite Films of 2023

This year’s list is coming out pretty late because, for the first time, I got to vote in a major award show. After winning a membership...

Stay Up-To-Date with New Posts

Search By Tags

bottom of page