top of page

Hidden Gems - Charlotte’s Web (2006)

I’m starting a new recurring segment called “Hidden Gems,” during which I will discuss a film that I’ve feel has either gone under the radar or is not as talked about as it ought to be. This is based on personal opinion and what I’ve observed on the internet, so if you don’t think a film qualifies as a “hidden gem,” that’s okay.

It’s February, a month of many holidays - Groundhog Day, Valentine’s Day, President’s Day, and, if you live in Tampa, it’s also time for the Florida State Fair. The annual event marks a time for fair food, Cracker Country (a living history museum permanently on the fairgrounds), artwork and watching the best fair-related film that I know, Charlotte’s Web. I’ll admit that I’ve become so accustomed to watching the film around the time of the fair, that while I was away at college, I found myself thinking about it instinctively. So in honor of the fair, here are my thoughts on Charlotte’s Web in my first edition of “Hidden Gems.” The 2006 live-action adaptation of the beloved children’s book is a good family-friendly film that’s funny and heartfelt. Dakota Fanning plays Fern and the voice cast includes the likes of Julia Roberts, Steve Buscemi, John Cleese, Oprah Winfrey, Cedric the Entertainer, Kathy Bates, Reba McEntire, Thomas Haden Church, and Robert Redford, as well as the late Sam Shepard as the narrator. Overall the cast is excellent, with Steve Buscemi being the standout, absolutely killing it as Templeton the rat. Templeton, like in the book, is by far the funniest character of the film, but other characters, especially John Cleese’s Samuel the Sheep, get their moments to shine. Overall, the film is a faithful adaptation of the source material. It stays relatively close to the book, with mostly minor deviations, including Fern taking Wilbur to school, everyone’s initial reaction to Charlotte, and the tone of the “pig web” scene, but nothing detracts from the story or message of the book. It also remains close to the original dialogue. The movie also adds two crows, Elwyn and Brooks (named after E.B. White), which add some comedic relief to the film. The adaptation also adds an emphasis on Wilbur wanting to see snow, which provides a visual emphasis on Charlotte’s quest to save his life. The film also sets the story in a specific county in Maine. Charlotte’s Web is actually really funny, with humor that both children and adults can appreciate. It’s also very heartfelt like the book and will potentially make you cry (unless you’re like my mom, who refuses to cry after the first viewing during the climax). There is a really good blend of live action and CGI in the film that isn’t too cheesy or jarring. That being said, some arachnophobic viewers might not like the CGI version of Charlotte, but slightly more tolerant viewers should be able to see past it. I personally hate spiders, but I’m okay with seeing her on screen. The score by Danny Elfman is also beautiful, and the closing credits song “Ordinary Miracle” by Sarah McLachlan is gorgeous and relates perfectly to the film’s message. It’s a good enough soundtrack that I own a copy. I’m sure some people will make comparisons to the 1973 animated film. I personally only vaguely remember seeing this version as a kid, but all I really remember is that I did not like it. Either way, I can’t make strong comparisons since I am unfamiliar with it. Charlotte’s Web can feel slightly preachy at times, but it doesn’t at all hinder the overall charm. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it as a film for all ages.

Recent Posts

See All

2024 Oscar Predictions

It’s time again for the Oscars and my annual predictions. This has been an interesting awards season for me as not only did I vote for...

My Favorite Films of 2023

This year’s list is coming out pretty late because, for the first time, I got to vote in a major award show. After winning a membership...

Stay Up-To-Date with New Posts

Search By Tags

bottom of page