top of page

My Most Anticipated Films of 2021

After an unprecedented year, I find that a lot of the films on my most anticipated list last year are repeats this year, and there is still the chance that some of these will be postponed even further. Not all of these are films that I’m going to see right away, but this includes films I’m curious about (I did include Cats on my 2019 list because I was curious about it, long before the first trailer dropped, and have never seen it). Still, I hope all these films get a theatrical release and can be seen on the big screen as they should be. Because 2020 has been so unusual, I’m also switching the release of my most anticipated and best of the year lists, so stayed to for my favorite films of 2020.


20) Godzilla vs. Kong - I haven’t seen any of the recent Godzilla or King Kong movies. I’m just curious as to how this very anticipated movie will be received.


19) Sing 2 - I thought the first film was okay and I’m just curious what they are even going to do for a sequel. I just hope it has a more structured plot than The Secret Life of Pets 2.


18) Free Guy - I didn’t know if this premise can hold up as a film, but it looks like it could be creative, especially since that second trailer reveals a lot more.


17) Minions: The Rise of Gru - I found it hilarious that the honest trailer for the first Minions movie said it would be better if was about little Gru and his minions and that’s what this sequel delivers. So I’m curious what they’re going to do with this film, especially since it seems to have a slightly better premise than the first one.


16) Cruella - There’s no way that Emma Stone will come even close to as good as Glenn Close or that the film will be even as good as the already-existing live-action remake of 101 Dalmatians (which I personally like much better than the original because it’s a lot funnier for one thing). I’ve just been curious about this film for a while now. Paul Walter Hauser as Horace does seem to be great casting.


15) The Suicide Squad - I did not like the first film at all, but I am curious about how James Gunn will take on the material. Still, I wish I didn’t have to wait longer for Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3.


14) Clifford the Big Red Dog - I remember really liking Clifford as a kid, so I’m naturally curious about this movie. Still, though, the dog right now doesn’t look quite right.


13) Venom: Let There Be Carnage - I thought the first film was just okay, but I am curious what the next film will be like.


12) Raya and the Last Dragon - The trailer for this did not intrigue me as much as it did to other people, but maybe subsequent trailers that reveal more will make me more interested. That animal sidekick does look very cute, though.


11) The Matrix 4 - I only saw the first Matrix film and have seen videos on Youtube about the sequels, so I know what happens. I have no idea how they’re going to bring back Neo and Trinity, but I am curious. I just hope that watching the second and third films aren’t a major requirement.


10) Ghostbusters: Afterlife - I know some people don’t like the fact that this film does not seem to be a comedy, but since I didn’t find the original that funny to begin with, I’m really intrigued by this more serious take on the franchise.


9) Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings - What really makes me excited for this movie is bringing back the Mandarin for real this time into the MCU. Even though I liked the twist in Iron Man 3, I do want to see the real one and I am looking forward to seeing the first Asian superhero to lead a film in the MCU.


8) Dune - I really Blade Runner 2049 and I like the visual look of this film. I just need to learn a little more about what it’s about before I’ll be willing to see this in theaters. If not, I’ll wait for it on DVD and check it out of the library (because if I don’t see a movie in the theaters, I shouldn’t have to pay a penny to see it, except for gas money).


7) The Beatles: Get Back - I happen to find this film on Wikipedia and I’m already on board. The sneak peek on IMDb only heightened the anticipation. I’m a big fan of the Beatles and especially love the film, A Hard Day’s Night, so I definitely want to see this at some point.


6) Death on the Nile - I really enjoyed Murder on the Orient Express and am looking forward to the next film with Kenneth Branagh’s Hercule Poirot.


5) In the Heights - I enjoyed Hamilton and am really curious about this musical. I’m also curious because this seems to be using the medium to its advantage, according to the trailer. I do want to learn more about the plot, though. Still, that song in the trailer gives me chills, especially since the wait has been more than a year. Another trailer is long overdue.


4) West Side Story - I love the film version of West Side Story and am really looking forward to this new version. I like the fact that they’re bringing back Rita Marino in the Doc role and I’m really curious if they stick close to the Broadway version or incorporate ideas from the previous film version (which I personally think work better).


3) Black Widow - I’m really looking forward to experiencing the MCU on the big screen again and I’m really looking forward to Natasha Romanoff’s well-deserved feature film.


2) No Time to Die - I love Daniel Craig’s portrayal of James Bond and I am looking forward to seeing his final film as the famous character. I am especially looking forward to an onscreen reunion with Craig and Ana de Armas from Knives Out, one of my favorite films of 2019.


1) Untitled Spider-Man: Far From Home sequel - Having this film in the top spot for me is a no-brainer. That mid-credits scene ended on possibly the second-biggest cliffhanger of the MCU, or at least phase three, so I cannot wait to see what happens to Peter Parker now that (SPOILER) his secret identity has been revealed to the world.

Recent Posts

See All

2024 Oscar Predictions

It’s time again for the Oscars and my annual predictions. This has been an interesting awards season for me as not only did I vote for...

My Favorite Films of 2023

This year’s list is coming out pretty late because, for the first time, I got to vote in a major award show. After winning a membership...

Comments


Stay Up-To-Date with New Posts

Search By Tags

bottom of page