top of page

My Favorite TV Shows of the Last Decade

The 2010s was the decade in which I started watching TV, as I did not do so until college. I have watched a lot of shows over the past several years, mostly on Network TV. Here are my favorite shows of the past decade, though I have not finished watching all of them, and outside of the top of the list, this ranking reflects how I feel at the time of writing and is subject to change, especially as I finish some of these shows. 20) Timeless - I’m a big history fan, so I loved this series’ use of historical facts with intriguing plots with a great trio. I have not finished season two yet, but no matter how it ends, I’m glad it got a second season and a TV movie to finish it properly. 19) Powerless - This show was canceled too soon. I found it funny, charming, and a great concept. It also has a great opening sequence. 18) Genius - I only saw the first season, but I found it a very interesting portrait of Albert Einstein. Geoffrey Rush was perfect casting. 17) Somewhere Between - An interesting take on the repeating-a-day-or-period-of-time form of time travel that ended well without the need for a second season. 16) The Whispers - This show was very intense, somewhat disturbing, and a great watch. It’s a shame that it was canceled after one season because that finale did not make any sense, though it didn’t leave much room open for a second season. 15) Me, Myself and I - This is such a charming comedy that it’s a shame that it was canceled before the first season was complete, though I am glad they did release the rest of the season, which I have yet to finish. 14) Better Late Than Never - This hilarious reality show was a lot of fun to watch. Wish there could be a season 3 where they go to Africa or South America. 13) Wayward Pines - A very intriguing sci-fi show with an interesting premise. Season two was not as strong as season one (especially in the way in practically rebooted the series with an entirely new cast) but was still interesting. 12) The Gifted - This show was actually my first exposure to Mutants. While the story beats could get repetitive, it was still intense and entertaining. I have yet to finish season two but I wish there was a season three. 11) Deception - Another show that ended way too soon on a great cliffhanger. This show was very entertaining and had a unique premise. Please give us a season two! 10) Once Upon a Time - The very first TV show that I started watching, I really enjoy this show, especially as a huge fan of twisted versions of fairy tales. It can move a little slow though, making me surprised by how fast some other shows go with their plots. I’ve only gotten to the mid-season finale of season four, but this show is still very entertaining to remain on the list no matter how the rest of the series goes when I watch it. 9) Salvation - A unique premise, great characters, and great twists and turns, I really enjoy this show and I hope I enjoy the rest of season two when I finish it, though I do wish there was a season three. 8) The Good Place - While some of the humor could be a little too crude for my taste, the characters and storyline were what kept me watching this show and I did find it genuinely funny at times. That season finale was so sad, though. 7) Designated Survivor - I have not finished season two yet, and while it is not as strong as it’s first season, its strong debut with its intense story puts it on the list. 6) iZombie - I started watching this show only because the premise sounded intriguing. But by the time I finished season one, I was hooked. The only problem I have is that sometimes I don’t remember how some of the side characters were introduced, especially when they become important to the plot. I hope the series finale sticks the landing when I see it and I hope Ravi finally develops a cure. 5) Speechless - This show ended too soon, even if it did end on a good note. Not only a great show in terms of diversity but also the funniest show I saw this decade. 4) Agent Carter - I absolutely love this show, especially season two (season one’s last three episodes kind of jumped the shark for me). Edwin Jarvis is one of my favorite characters ever and I was so happy that he got a cameo in Avengers: Endgame. The fact that this show did not get a season three is a tragedy. 3) Stranger Things - I’m not a big horror fan, but this show’s balance of horror, mystery, humor, and heart really works in its favor. I have yet to see season three at this time, but the first seasons were enough to put it at the top of the list. 2) Sherlock - This is the only show where I binged an entire season in one day (season two). I absolutely adore this show, with season three being my favorite. While the show ended on a good note, I’d be more than happy if they gave us a season five. 1) The Flash - While Once Upon a Time was the first TV show I started watching, this was the show that made me really start watching TV. I fell in love with this show from the pilot and it has remained my favorite ever since. While I do watch some of the other Arrowverse shows, this one will always remain my favorite and will probably remain my favorite TV show of all time.

Recent Posts

See All

2024 Oscar Predictions

It’s time again for the Oscars and my annual predictions. This has been an interesting awards season for me as not only did I vote for...

My Favorite Films of 2023

This year’s list is coming out pretty late because, for the first time, I got to vote in a major award show. After winning a membership...

Stay Up-To-Date with New Posts

Search By Tags

bottom of page