top of page

Wicked - Songs for Every Mood

(This post contains minor Spoilers for Wicked)

Ever since I first saw Wicked on Broadway, it has become my favorite musical of all time, and a year ago, I got to see it again in Tampa. From the great story to the incredible soundtrack, Wicked has something for everyone. After buying the soundtrack, one thing that I have noticed is how diverse the songs are, and how much they each fit with different life experiences. So, in a more light-hearted blog post, here are the different moods for songs from Wicked. If You’re Nostalgic for Your High School or College - “Dear Old Shiz” This is a song I normally skip, but it does have a similar melody and tone to a typical alma mater. So if you’re thinking of your high school or college alma mater but don’t remember the lyrics, you can sing “Dear Old Shiz” as a substitute. When You Feel Hope for the Future - “The Wizard and I” This song occurs after Elphaba demonstrates her power in front of Madame Morrible, who says she’ll share her talent with the Wizard, and for the first time, Elphaba has hope for the future. Whenever you’re feeling hopeful yourself, “The Wizard and I” is a good song of choice. When You’re Mad at Someone - “What Is This Feeling?” Granted, this is a hilarious song, but it still is a song about unadulterated loathing, so if you ever want to (privately) vent about someone or some topic, this is a good song to sing when you’re alone to get out some of that anger. Or if you want to sing a comedic song, this is a good choice. When You’re Prepping For a Dance Or a Party - “Dancing Through Life” This is actually a great song to be listening to as your preparing for a dance or party and has become a go-to song for me. It’s also a good procrastination song. When You’re Having a Make-over Or Need Some Motivation Before Said Make-over - “Popular” I had a makeover on the show Daytime after my internship at WFLA where it’s produced (you can view the video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3PmNQNKGBk). No joke, this song actually helped persuade me to go through with it, so if you’re ever in a similar situation, I recommend listening to this song before you make a decision. Or you can listen to it and sing along if you just need a good laugh or want to express your inner Galinda. When You’re Experiencing Unrequited Love - “I’m Not That Girl” This song really expresses what it feels like to experience unrequited love, as Elphaba sings about her sudden feelings for Fiyero. Or you can sing the reprise that Glinda sings when the role is reversed. When You’re Exploring a New City - “One Short Day” This song speaks for itself, as Elphaba and Glinda explore the Emerald City. If you’re in New York to see Wicked on Broadway, you can easily swap out the words “Emerald City” for “New York City.” When You Need Some Motivation Or To Belt Out a Empowering Song - “Defying Gravity” This one’s obvious, as it’s probably the best empowering song on Broadway and one of the greatest Broadway songs of all time. There’s not much I can say that hasn’t been said already about this modern classic. When You Feel Down About Life Or Things Are Not Going Your Way - “Thank Goodness” While this song is mostly exposition, Glinda’s soliloquy after Fiyero runs off is moving and I have found myself singing just this portion of the song whenever I feel disappointed. You can also sing this song if you’re ever feeling grateful. When You Need to Sing a Love Song - “As Long as You’re Mine” This is an incredibly romantic and sexy love song that deserves to be on the list of best romantic Broadway songs. When You’re Frustrated About Life - “No Good Deed” Widely considered to be the most powerful and emotional song of Wicked, this is the best if you ever feel frustrated and ever needed to belt out your frustrations. It actually can help blow off some steam. When You’re Saying Goodbye to Someone or Something You Love - “For Good” This is one of the best farewell songs I’ve ever heard, perfect for every sort of goodbye situation and guaranteed to make you cry in the right situation. It’s also a great song to use to practice singing harmonies.

Recent Posts

See All

2024 Oscar Predictions

It’s time again for the Oscars and my annual predictions. This has been an interesting awards season for me as not only did I vote for...

My Favorite Films of 2023

This year’s list is coming out pretty late because, for the first time, I got to vote in a major award show. After winning a membership...

Stay Up-To-Date with New Posts

Search By Tags

bottom of page